Scroll to content
Northgate Primary School

Northgate Primary School

Interactive Bar

Our Governors

Our Governing Body


Northgate Primary School is a community school. Our Governing Body was reconstituted on 1st May 2020 and is made up of 14 governors:


  • 3 Parent Governors (elected by the parent body)


Mrs Kirsty Shurety


'I am a mum of 2 boys, my eldest currently attends Northgate Primary School and my youngest recently moved to a local specialist school after 2 years as a pupil at Northgate Primary. You may also recognise me from PTFA events, where I was part of the committee as Secretary and later as Vice Chair.


I decided to apply for the Parent Govenor position as we have recently gone through the complicated Education, Health and Care Plan (EHCP) process with our youngest son, who is autistic, and received incredible support from the school and all the staff involved in his care & education whilst he attended Northgate Primary school. It also opened my eyes to the many different special educational needs (SEN) within the school and met so many parents going through the same difficult process. With the experience I gained from the EHCP process and having children with SEN, I hope to assist the school and staff to help support children and families affected by SEN.'

Mrs Seluakamari Divaseelan 








  • 1 Staff Governor (elected by the staff), and the Head Teacher


Mrs Amanda Harrison

Head Teacher


I was delighted to be appointed as the headteacher of Northgate Primary School in September 2020,  to work with the Governing Body to continue the drive for school improvement.  I am excited about the future of our school and the many opportunities we can offer our young children.  I have worked in primary schools for over twenty-five years and am passionate about making sure every child is seen as an individual with many personal strengths and talents.  It is our job as educators to ignite a love for learning in everyone so they can achieve their best and have a future they truly deserve.




Mrs Sarah Nower

Deputy Head Teacher



Newly appointed. 



  • 1 Local Authority Governor (appointed by the Local Authority)






  • 8 Co-opted Governors (appointed by the Governing Body based on skills and experience). 




Mr Christopher



I have worked for Royal Mail for 35 years and I enjoy railway modelling, I am a keen photographer, and I am a rail enthusiast. While at work I started a course at college which lead to me studying at Birkbeck College for a degree in Psychology. I am now studying for a master’s degree in psychology with the Open University. Until 2011 I was a school governor for a primary school in Waltham Cross. When I moved to Three Bridges, I applied through Governors for Schools to become a Governor at Northgate Primary School. I became a school governor to give something back to the community by using the skills that I have learnt over the years to help others.


Mrs Irum Ali

Safeguarding Governor

Chair of Governors  



I am a mother to an 11 year old and a 15 year old. Both my children attended Northgate Primary School. My son is currently in year 6 and loves school. I wanted to become a governor to support the school and to be a role model for my children. I have a Bachelor (Hons) degree in Business. I have been a Governor for the last five years.  I am the designated safeguarding governor. 


Miss Sarah James




Ms Katie Piggott


I have been a involved in education for over 10 years in Buckinghamshire, Sutton and Surrey in a variety of schools. I very much enjoy teaching and providing the best opportunities for children in my day job. When I moved into the area, I wanted to be able to give some of my experience and support back to my local community.


 Kamaljit Seehra 

Co- opted Governor. 



Karen Haynes

 Clerk to Governors



The Safeguarding Vulnerable Groups Act 2006 specifies that individuals acting as members of the Governing Board of an educational establishment (defined as either an educational establishment which is exclusively or mainly for the provision of full-time education to children, or a maintained nursery school) need to undergo a DBS check.


The nominated Governor for Safeguarding is Mrs Irum Ali. 


All governors serve for 4 years from the date of their election or appointment. Parent governors may serve out their term of office even if their child leaves the school. Staff governors end their term if they cease to be employed at the school.


The Full Governing Body meets twice per term.

The Resources Committee meets at least once per term; the Teaching and Learning Committee every half term and the Pay Committee meets at least once per year.


Governor Roles and Responsibilities 2023-2024


Resources Committee: Chris Simonovitch, Amanda Harrison, Seluakumari Divaseelan, Sarah Nower.


Teaching & Learning Committee: Katie Piggot, Irum Ali (Chair), Amanda Harrison, Lavanya Dhinagaravel, Kirsty Shurety, Sarah Nower. 


Pay Committee: Chris Simonovitch, Lavanya Dhinagaravel, Selvakumari Divaseelan. 


Disciplinary /Complaints/Exclusion Panel

3 Non-staff governors will form a panel as necessary


Disciplinary/Complaints/Exclusion Appeals Panel

3 Non-staff governors will form a panel as necessary



If you would like to become a parent governor, see the letter below.

Get In Touch

Information Block